Amanda’s July TBR Jar Picks

Hello, lovelies! Another month down and we’ve reached July. My life is about to explode into chaos, so I’m making this post because it’s free content. I’m not putting any pressure on myself to read anything at all this month. But if/when I want to read, I can use this post as a guideline.

New Release
Off the Grid by Tess Sharpe
I love Jurassic Park and I’ve loved all of Sharpe’s books I’ve read, so I think I’ll love this.

Adult
When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill
I bought this for myself as a treat for Mother’s Day and a book where there’s a historical event where a mass of women turn into dragons? Yes, I would like that.

1st in a Series
Furyborn by Claire Legrand
I wanted to read this at the end of last month but it didn’t happen. So, I’m determined to read it this month.

Standalone
The Man Ban by Nicola Marsh
This was an impulse buy romance. Romances have been easy for me to read lately, so this is here to make my tbr easier.

Young Adult
The Evolution of Claire by Tess Sharpe
I recently learned that Sharpe has written IP for Jurassic Park, so obviously I had to buy it. I want to read it asap and binge the movies before I eventually see the newest movie. I also want to read it before I read Sharpe’s newest Jurassic Park book (which is middle grade and on my tbr above).

And, of course, I’ll share my upcoming NetGalley reads as well. There’s a lot because I’ve fallen a few books behind, but I’m doing the best that I can.

The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah
A Strange and Stubborn Endurance by Foz Meadows
For Butter or Worse by Erin La Rosa

What are you reading this month?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

For the Throne by Hannah Whitten

Summary:
The First Daughter is for the Throne
The Second Daughter is for the Wolf…

Red and the Wolf have finally contained the threat of the Old Kings but at a steep cost. Red’s beloved sister Neve, the First Daughter is lost in the Shadowlands, an inverted kingdom where the vicious gods of legend have been trapped for centuries and the Old Kings have slowly been gaining control. But Neve has an ally–though it’s one she’d rather never have to speak to again–the rogue king Solmir.
Solmir wants to bring an end to the Shadowlands and he believes helping Neve may be the key to its destruction. But to do that, they will both have to journey across a dangerous landscape in order to find a mysterious Heart Tree, and finally to claim the gods’ dark, twisted powers for themselves.

Review:
Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for providing me with this advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. For the Wolf was one of my top favorite books last year, so I immediately requested this sequel when it came up on NetGalley. Yes, I absolutely screamed a little when I got the approval email.
For the Throne was everything I wanted it to be and more. We follow the same characters from the first book and more. There wasn’t a strict pattern of POV changes that I noticed. Each character made an appearance as it made sense for the story. The story starts off shortly after the events in the final pages for For The Wolf. All of our characters end up going on a journey, which eventually all leads them together.
The sisters, Neve and Redarys. I love them even more after I finished this book. There was such beauty to their relationship but it was a monstrous sort of love at times. I only wish we’d gotten more time of them together.
Red and Eammon are now one of my all-time favorite couples after this book. There were a few really excellent sex scenes for them and I just love their love.
Neve and Solmir going from enemies to lovers were excellent. I don’t usually like this trope. But I really loved seeing Neve start to feel bad for Solmir as she got to know him. We love monster men over here. Solmir was definitely not a super great guy, but I loved the way his story played out. Neve was a character I was rather excited to follow. Neve is at fault for basically everything that happened at the climax of the first book. So, I was very interested to see her deal with the emotions and consequences of that. I think Whitten did an excellent job making me love these people that have done some pretty horrible things. And oh man, I really love them all.
Overall, this series will hold a special place in my heart. I will reread these books again and again. I feel invested in these characters in a way that I found in a book for a long time. I hope this review doesn’t sound like nonsense and if it does, just know that I loved this book and the first one. Please go read them both.

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To play along just answer the three questions to share you’re weekly reading update!

What are you currently reading?

Amanda- I’m currently reading See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon physically. I’m listening to Part of Your World by Abby Jimenez and I’m reading the eBook for The Helm of Midnight by Marina J. Lostetter.

Antonia- I’m currently reading Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells.

What did you most recently finish reading?

Amanda- I most recently finished rereading Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas.

Antonia- I most recently read Artificial Condition by Martha Wells.

What will you be reading next?

Amanda- I don’t know that I’ll pick up anything else this month. Stay tuned for my July TBR.

Antonia- Next I’ll read King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo.

Here’s another weekly reading update! Share your answers in the comments below!

Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR 2022

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. This week’s topic is Books On My Summer 2022 To-Read List.

The Empire of Gold by S. A. Chakraborty

The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi

All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

To Sleep in A Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini

Set Fire to the Gods by Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons

Fire Study by Maria V. Snyder

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint

Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

Pahua and the Soul Stealer by Lori M. Lee

The Last Fallen Star by Grace Kim

What’s books are on your summer TBR?

Amanda’s Top Ten Tuesday – Summer 2022 TBR

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. Each week we talk about our top ten with a different topic provided by Jana. This week’s topic is ten books on my TBR for this summer of 2022.

When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy by Becky Chambers

The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

The Lost World by Michael Crichton

Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno

The Evolution of Claire by Tess Sharpe

I’m hoping some of these books bring me the vibe I’m trying to have this summer. What books are on your summer tbr?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Amanda’s June & Clear Ur Sht Wrap Up

Hi, lovelies! The end of another month means another post where I share the books that I’ve read. June was a pretty good month for me. I tried to focus on my Clear Ur Set Readathon TBR but was often distracted. I did mostly read books I own or NetGalley arcs though. I know the month isn’t over yet, but I have to stick to my posting schedule.

Physical Books
Book Lovers by Emily Henry – 4.5 stars
The Weeping Tide by Amanda Foody – 4.5 stars
Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur – 3.5 stars
Nightwork by Nora Roberts – 4 stars
I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston – 4.5 stars
When Sparks Fly by Helena Hunting – 3.75 stars
Starry-Eyed Love by Helena Hunting – 3.75 stars
Josh & Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren – 4.5 stars
Not Your Average Hot Guy by Gwenda Bond – 3 stars
My Killer Vacation by Tessa Bailey – 2 stars

eBooks
Small Town Pride by Phil Stamper – 4 stars
Home Field Advantage by Dahlia Adler – 4 stars
Wretched Waterpark by Kiersten White – 3.5 stars
Seasonal Fears by Seanan McGuire – 4.5 stars
January Fifteenth by Rachel Swirsky – 3 stars
Breaking Time by Sasha Alsberg – 3 stars
What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher – 3 stars
Can’t Resist Her by Kianna Alexander – 3 stars
An Unreliable Magic by Rin Chupeco – 3.5 stars

Audiobooks
Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas – 4 stars
The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey – 3 stars
The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend – 3 stars
The Intimacy Experiment by Rosie Danan – 3.75 stars
Forever, Interrupted by Taylor Jenkins Reid – 3 stars
After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid – 3 stars

Clear Ur Sht Readathon Wrap Up

Walkman // a book you’ve been avoiding the longest
An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon
I dnf’d this, but according to Narrator dnf’s count. Heck yeah.

Breakfast Club // read a book with food themes or items
Hungry Hearts: 13 Tales of Love & Food edited by Elsie Chapman
I also dnf’d this one.

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun // read a book with multiple POVs
Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas
We love a reread and I had a great time rereading this one.

NES // read a sci-fi, or a book with technology in it
The Genesis Wars by Akemi Dawn Bowman
I, sadly, dnf’d this. I really loved the first book last year, but I didn’t love it as much upon rereading and this book just wasn’t holding my attention. I made it a little over halfway before I put it down for something else.

Polaroids // read a book with characters on the cover
Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas
I reread via the audiobook. It took me forever and I don’t think I enjoyed it as much this time around.

Care Bears // read a comforting book
Book Lovers by Emily Henry
Read this outside in the sunshine and it was lovely. 10 out of 10, would recommend it.

Manic Monday // read a book you can finish over the weekend to avoid a manic Monday
Silver in the Wood by Emily Tesh
I also dnf’d this one.

Rainbow Brite // read a book with LGBTQIA+ representation
Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur
I got to read this at the beach! I mostly liked it, just didn’t love the bad first date as the main couple’s introduction.

I want to add down here at the end of this post that I dnf’d quite a few books. You can see the three that I said above for Clear Ur Sht, but I also dnf’d several others from my physical tbr and my NetGalley tbr. My impending move is looming and I’m trying to read as much of my physical tbr as I can.

What did you read this month?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Amanda’s NetGalley Shelf #7

Hi, lovelies! I’m back with another NetGalley shelf update. I’ve read some good ones and some not-so-good ones. Let me know if you’ve read any of these!

As I always do with these posts, I’m going to share my NetGalley statistics for transparencies sake. Mostly because this looks like a large number of books, but I read them all and my numbers show that. I have 234 approved with feedback sent for 204 books. This gives me a feedback ratio of 87%, which I’m pretty proud of.

Approvals I’ve Read

The City of Dusk by Tara Sim
Publication date: March 22, 2022
I really enjoyed this one. It was a lot darker than I was anticipating. I loved all the characters that we followed. Their development was compelling and the story was engaging.

The Bone Orchard by Sara A. Mueller
Publication date: March 22, 2022
I think I might not be smart enough for this story. I still had so many questions when I finished and now I remember nothing.

Always Jane by Jenn Bennett
Publication date: March 29, 2022
I very surprisingly DNF’d this book. I read about 25% and had no clue what was going on. So I restarted and then DNF’d at 10%. I couldn’t stand the main character’s boyfriend.

The Button Box by Bridget Hodder, Fawzia Gilani-Williams, & Harshad Marathe (Illustrator)
Publication date: April 1, 2022
I thought this was middle grade, but it’s more like a chapter book. I liked it. I thought it was a cute time travel fantasy that follows diverse characters.

In a Garden Burning Gold by Rory Power
Publication date: April 5, 2022
I DNF’d this around 15%. I think Power’s books might just not be for me.

Fool Me Once by Ashley Winstead
Publication date: April 5, 2022
This is a second chance romance (one of my favorite tropes) with a hot mess main character and the ex that she cheated on. I loved the main character, Lee. She’s a hot mess in the best kinds of ways. This book had me laughing out loud quite a few times while reading.

To Marry and To Meddle by Martha Waters
Publication date: April 5, 2022
This is my favorite book in the series so far. I laughed out loud so many times and just really had fun reading this one.

Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments by T.L. Huchu
Publication date: April 5, 2022
I liked the first book in this series, but I just didn’t care about this one. I read about 30% of the eARC and then found the audiobook from my library after the book’s release. I DNF’d at 84% and when I still didn’t care while the big reveals were going on I wasn’t going to listen to another two hours.

Dreams Bigger Than Heartbreak by Charlie Jane Anders
Publication date: April 5, 2022
I sadly DNF’d this one. I read 8% of the eARC and then restarted the story via the audiobook from my library. I just had no idea what was going on.

Very Bad People by Kit Frick
Publication date: April 5, 2022
I already remember little to nothing about this book. So, that’s not a good sign. What I do remember is not really liking the main character. This one just wasn’t for me.

This May End Badly by Samantha Markum
Publication date: April 12, 2022
I didn’t love this, but I didn’t hate it. It was an enjoyable and fun YA contemporary. I liked the main character. There were some moments that made me smile. But I don’t think it’s one that will stick with me.

Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf
Publication date: April 19, 2022
This was too slow for my liking. I ended up listening to the finished audiobook. I felt like the suspense and build-up were lacking and I didn’t like the twist at the end.

The Jade Setter of Janloon by Fonda Lee
Publication date: April 30, 2022
This felt weirdly unrelated to the rest of the books. I didn’t really like the main character very much.

An Unreliable Magic by Rin Chupeco
Publication date: May 3, 2022
I had a good time reading this book but it’s not a series that I think I will want to reread again and again. I do think there were some things at the ending that maybe hinted at another installment of this series which I would read. This book is diverse and full of action.

Seasonal Fears by Seanan McGuire
Publication date: May 3, 2022
I really enjoyed this book. I think I liked Middlegame a bit more, but only because it was a total mindfuck. I still really enjoyed this one. The seasonal magic was interesting to learn about and I really liked the two main characters.

Primal Animals by Julia Lynn Rubin
Publication date: May 24, 2022
I think this author nailed the horror aspects of this book. Definitely do not read this if you have any sort of issues with bugs. And while I liked the summer camp setting, I really wish the plot had gone a different way.

Hide by Kiersten White
Publication date: May 24, 2022
This is White’s adult debut and I’m incredibly sad to say that I didn’t love this book. I loved the first half, but then things got a little too fantastical for me. I wanted to love it but there were too many character points of view and I didn’t like the way things were wrapped up.

Small Town Pride by Phil Stamper
Publication date: May 31, 2022
This was the most wholesome and heartwarming book I’ve read in a long time. A young gay boy comes out to his parents and they try to plan a pride parade so that he feels loved and welcomed in the small town he lives in and loves.

Wretched Waterpark by Kiersten White
Publication date: June 7, 2022
I had a good time reading this one. I liked that the siblings could depend on one another. But they were also distinct and I really liked getting to know them all. I love a good sibling story and this one definitely covered that aspect. I also think White did a great job making it obvious that something was wrong at the park. The setting was weird and creepy, unsettling more than anything really scary. I thought she did well with that part of this book.

Home Field Advantage by Dahlia Adler 
Publication date: June 7, 2022
I really enjoyed this book. I’m not a huge football fan, but that didn’t diminish my enjoyment. I really liked that this wasn’t a sad story about the two main characters dealing with homophobia, but it also wasn’t a totally happy story. It had the realities that queer teens face all over the world, but it was also filled with joy and love.

January Fifteenth by Rachel Swirsky
Publication date: June 14, 2022
I don’t usually read novellas but I love science fiction. This was an odd book in the sense that I didn’t expect it to be so sad. I should have expected it since most near-future sci-fi’s are sad. I still liked it. It was a good story and the format was creative. I can’t say that I had a good time reading it because it wasn’t a happy story. But I would recommend it in specific genre lists.

Breaking Time by Sasha Alsberg
Publication date: June 14, 2022
I know everyone is calling this a self-insert Outlander story, but I thought it was pretty different from the Outlander books. There was a lot more magic. It wasn’t anything that blew me away but I had fun while I was reading it. The characters were a bit predictable and surface-level, but sometimes that’s fun.

Beneath the Starlit Sea by Nicole Bea
Publication date: June 14, 2022
Dnf’d @ 33% She fell in insta-love with her captor. Sorry, the writing is really beautiful but I’m not here for it.

A Mirror Mended by Alix E. Harrow
Publication date: June 14, 2022
I really enjoyed this one. I loved seeing Zinnia again. I loved the romance. I loved all of it. I just wanted more.

What Moves the Dark by T. Kingfisher
Publication date: July 12, 2022
I think this was a good and creepy read. It’s quick and atmospheric and gave me the creepy crawlies a little bit. There was a little bit of gore when the character cut open a hare, but nothing worse than that.

Helltown by Casey Sherman
Publication date: July 12, 2022
I dnf’d at 8%. The book was incredibly graphic with describing the murders. No thank you.

Can’t Resist Her by Kianna Alexander
Publication date: July 19, 2022
This is a sapphic romance. I really liked the two main characters. They had vibrant and bold personalities. Their attraction to one another was believable. I love second-chance romances, and this one was a good one. I really liked how the story concluded.

I’m the Girl by Courtney Summers
Publication date: September 13, 2022
I was incredibly confused this entire book. I’m sorry but I don’t think this ever delivered on what it was trying to do.

Approvals on my TBR

The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah
Publication date: May 17, 2022
I’ve seen this cover all over Twitter. So, I couldn’t help myself when I requested this one. But it sounds pretty good.

A Strange and Stubborn Endurance by Foz Meadows
Publication date: July 26, 2022
The synopsis sounds right up my alley. But also, this cover is stunning and I couldn’t help myself.

For Butter or Worse by Erin La Rosa
Publication date: July 26, 2022
I just couldn’t say no to the pun in the title. I’ve seen some friends on Twitter enjoy this one.

The Hookup Plan by Farrah Rochon
Publication date: August 2, 2022
I liked the first two in this series. So, I’m excited to be approved for the third.

Stay Awake by Megan Goldin
Publication date: August 9, 2022
I really loved Night Swim by this author. So, I thought I’d request her new release to see if I like more of her work.

Please Join Us by Catherine McKenzie
Publication date: August 23, 2022
This thriller sounds super good.

Silver Under Nightfall by Rin Chupeco
Publication date: September 13, 2022
Chupeco is an auto-buy author for me. I hit that request button so fast.

Spells for Forgetting by Adrienne Young
Publication date: September 27, 2022
I am beyond excited for Young’s adult debut. A spooky magical island? Yes, please.

Just Like Magic by Sarah Hogle
Publication date: October 4, 2022
Hogle has become an auto-buy author for me. So, I absolutely requested this holiday romance when I saw it.

Mistakes Were Made by Meryl Wilsner
Publication date: October 11, 2022
A queer rom-com where the main character hooks up with her best friend’s mom. How was I supposed to say no to that?

Built to Last by Erin Hahn
Publication date: October 18, 2022
I’ve liked some of Hahn’s YA romance, so I’m excited to try her adult romance debut.

The Wilderwomen by Ruth Emmie Lang
Publication date: November 15, 2022
This was a cover request for me. The cover is stunning and then I read that it was about people with magical abilities and that is right up my alley.

Never Ever Getting Back Together by Sophie Gonzales
Publication date: December 6, 2022
A book where the main character goes on a reality dating show and falls in love with one of the fellow contestants? Yes fucking please.

What books are on your tbr?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Small Town Pride by Phil Stamper

Summary:
Jake is just starting to enjoy life as his school’s first openly gay kid. While his family and friends are accepting and supportive, the same can’t be said about everyone in their small town of Barton Springs, Ohio.
When Jake’s dad hangs a comically large pride flag in their front yard in an overblown show of love, the mayor begins to receive complaints. A few people are even concerned the flag will lead to something truly outlandish: a pride parade.
Except Jake doesn’t think that’s a ridiculous idea. Why can’t they hold a pride festival in Barton Springs? The problem is, Jake knows he’ll have to get approval from the town council, and the mayor won’t be on his side. And as Jake and his friends try to find a way to bring Pride to Barton Springs, it seems suspicious that the mayor’s son, Brett, suddenly wants to spend time with Jake.
But someone that cute couldn’t possibly be in league with his mayoral mother, could he?

Review:
Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for this advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.
Small Town Pride follows Jake who has just come out to his parents. He’s told some friends, but then Jake’s dad raises a rainbow flag in their yard and effectively outs him to the rest of the town. Jake’s parents are overly supportive (it was so nice to see such loving and supportive parents, even if they still get things wrong sometimes), so when Jake floats the idea of having a pride parade in their small town, they’re all over helping him.
I really loved this book. It was a wholesome and heartwarming story about a young gay boy that just wants to feel loved and accepted by the small town he lives in and loves. He’s shown that he has more supporters than he realizes in this story and I thought it was absolutely beautiful.
Overall, I highly recommend this one. It really touched my heart getting to follow Jake through the ups and downs of creating and organizing an LGBTQIA event in a small town. I will be recommending this one to many in the future.

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To play along just answer the three questions to share you’re weekly reading update!

What are you currently reading?

Amanda- I’m currently reading The Date From Hell by Gwenda Bond. I’m listening to Forever, Interrupted by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I’m also reading a NetGalley arc for An Unreliable Magic by Rin Chupeco.

Antonia- I’m currently reading Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells. I’m also buddy reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan with my niece.

What did you most recently finish reading?

Amanda- Yesterday, I finished Not Your Average Hot Guy by Gwenda Bond.

Antonia- I most recently read Artificial Condition by Martha Wells.

What will you be reading next?

Amanda- I think next I’ll continue Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books on audio. I have some new romance that I’ll probably pick up next. My Killer Vacation by Tessa Bailey just got delivered yesterday.

Antonia- Next I’m going to start King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo.

Thanks for reading another weekly reading update! Share your answers or your post in the comments below!

Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Wishes

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. This week’s topic is top ten books on your wish list.

I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe

Zodiac by Romina Russell

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson

Crownchasers by Rebecca Cofffindaffer

The Accidental Apprentice by Amanda Foody

What books are on your to-buy list?

Amanda’s Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Wishes

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. Each week we talk about our top ten with a different topic provided by Jana. This week’s topic is the top ten books on my to buy wishlist.

Here’s my wishlist

Seven Mercies by Laura Lam & Elizabeth May

Fool Me Once by Ashley Winstead

Devil in the Device by Lora Beth Johnson

Thronebreakers by Rebecca Coffindaffer

Where the Drowned Girls Go by Seanan McGuire

Ophelia After All by Raquel Marie

The Last Fallen Moon by Graci Kim

What About Will by Ellen Hopkins

See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Closer to Nowhere by Ellen Hopkins

What books are on your wishlist?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Amanda’s Favorite Short Audiobooks

Hi, lovelies! I had a friend (Hi, Ari!) ask me if I had any posts where I recommended shorter audiobooks since she has trouble listening to longer ones. So, I’ve come today with a list of books written in verse, novellas, and even some non-fiction that I read and loved on audio.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
Audiobook Length: 3 hours 30 minutes
This is a YA novel written in verse. It’s also narrated by the author who has won awards for her poetry performances.

Upright Women Wanted by Sarah Gailey
Audiobook Length: 3 hours 52 minutes
Midwestern (but in the future) librarians or something. This was quick but had a really interesting setting/world.

The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green
Audiobook Length: 10 hours 3 minutes
(Okay, this one isn’t short. But it’s a book of essays sort of, so you can listen in little bits and pieces easily.) Green narrates the audiobook and it’s a series of reviews of strange things. But really he’s telling stories. I really loved it.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
Audiobook Length: 4 hours 45 minutes
This series asks, what happened to the kids that returned from alternate worlds? I love this world and the children in it. Book two is my favorite. All of the audiobooks have different narrators, but the author narrates at least one.

Yearbook by Seth Rogan
Audiobook Length: 6 hours 13 minutes
I’m a big fan of Rogan’s movies. So, when a friend told me he’d published Yearbook I checked to see if my library had the audiobook. Rogan narrates this book. I loved his narration (and the guests involved) but I really didn’t love the weird sound effects that were included. I listened in spite of the sound effects and still enjoyed the story that Rogan shared.

Do you listen to short audiobooks or do you prefer longer ones?

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Amanda’s May 2022 Book Haul

Hey, lovelies. I did a bit of buying, a bit of trading, and had some preorders arrive. My haul for May is going to look large, but I didn’t spend much money, which is the goal.

Books I’ve Read

The Roommate by Rosie Danan
Little Thieves by Margaret Owen
Dark Age by Pierce Brown
Iron Gold by Pierce Brown

New to my TBR

Book Lovers by Emily Henry
When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill
The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas
Not a Happy Family by Shari Lapena
Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner
The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley
The Intimacy Experiment by Rosie Danan
None Shall Sleep by Ellie Marney
The Lost World by Michael Crichton
The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse

Did you buy any books in May? Let me know what new books you’re excited about!

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

Home Field Advantage by Dahlia Adler

Summary:
Amber McCloud’s dream is to become cheer captain at the end of the year, but it’s an extra-tall order to be joyful and spirited when the quarterback of your team has been killed in a car accident. For both the team and the squad, watching Robbie get replaced by newcomer Jack Walsh is brutal. And when it turns out Jack is actually short for Jaclyn, all hell breaks loose.
The players refuse to be led by a girl, the cheerleaders are mad about the changes to their traditions, and the fact that Robbie’s been not only replaced but outshined by a QB who wears a sports bra has more than a few Atherton Alligators in a rage. Amber tries for some semblance of unity, but it quickly becomes clear that she’s only got a future on the squad and with her friends if she helps them take Jack down.
Just one problem: Amber and Jack are falling for each other, and if Amber can’t stand up for Jack and figure out how to get everyone to fall in line, her dream may come at the cost of her heart.
Dahlia Adler’s Home Field Advantage is a sparkling romance about fighting for what – or who – you truly want.

Review:
Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for this advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. I absolutely loved Adler’s Cool for the Summer, so I was excited to read another one of her books.
Home Field Advantage follows Jack and Amber, who both get their own chapters. Amber is a cheerleader in a small town. She has hopes to become captain next year when she’s a senior. Enter Jack, and she transfers in to be the school’s new quarterback. Now as if the fact that she’s a girl isn’t going to make things hard enough, the last quarterback died and their fellow students practically worship his memory.
So, obviously, the cheerleader and the quarterback get romantically involved. But Amber’s not out, so there are lots of complications. I liked the characters because they were real. They made mistakes and didn’t always consider possible consequences, but they make amends and they do their best to be better in the future. The friendships were easy to root for. I love small queer friend groups that turn into found family.
I’m not super into sports, so that was lost on me. Though I do want to mention that Jack’s love for the game really showed through. She uprooted half her family and changed everything for this thing that she loves. Adler did a great job showing the reader that passion.
If you like sports romance, this book is for you. If you like sapphic books, this book is for you. If you like both of those things, then you should definitely add this one to your list.

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To play along just answer the three questions to share you’re weekly reading update!

What are you currently reading?

Amanda- I’m currently reading The Genesis Wars by Aksum Dawn Bowman. I’m also listening to The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend.

Antonia- I just started Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells. I’m also buddy reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan with my niece.

What did you most recently finish reading?

Amanda- Last night, I finished Seasonal Fears by Seanan McGuire.

Antonia- I most recently read Artificial Condition by Martha Wells.

What will you be reading next?

Amanda- Next, I’m going to probably keep going with Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas.

Antonia- Next I plan to finally pick up King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo.

What are your answers to this week’s three questions? Leave a comment with your answers!