The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Summary:
The year is 2059. Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a rare kind of clairvoyant-and under Scion law, she commits treason simply by breathing.
It is raining the day her life changes forever. Attacked, kidnapped, and drugged, Paige is transported to Oxford-a city kept secret for two hundred years, governed by an otherworldly race called the Rephaim who seek to control clairvoyants for their own purposes. Paige is assigned to the care of Warden, a powerful Rephaite. He is her captor. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if she wants to regain her freedom, she will have to get close to him, to learn something of his mind and his own mysterious motives.
The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine, a young woman discovering her powers in a world where everything has been taken from her. It also introduces an extraordinary young writer with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut
Review:
The Bone Season has been super hyped up. Everyone has been talking about this series because the third book was recently released. I enjoyed it for sure. I don’t have a whole lot to say because I’m writing this and falling asleep at the same time.
I loved the unique idea behind the story. Things sort of taking place in London. But not really. It’s London, just not as we know it today. Shannon created an incredible world in these pages. The world building was great. We weren’t overwhelmed with information and we weren’t lacking any either. There were no description dumps trying to tell us about the world. We learned about how things worked at a nice pace that flowed with the progression of the story. I loved learning about how their society works and the differences from the real world. It was creative and interesting and I’m definitely intrigued to see what’s going to happen in the next book.
Shannon’s writing was very good. It wasn’t overly detailed and complicated, but it wasn’t simple either. The setting was written well with good imagery. I don’t know how accurate the London and Ireland parts of the story were because I’ve never been there, but I’m interested to know if it resembles current London at all.
The characters were another interesting aspect. Complex and flawed, they were relatable and captivating. Paige is a complicated girl. There is almost a “chosen one” kind of trope, but it’s avoided with the fact that she’s not “chosen” just a special girl with a rare ability. Now that I think about it, there was a “discovering my magical powers” trope, but it wasn’t specific to Paige. It was something that happened to lots of people all over. Regardless, I liked Paige. She was mostly afraid of her power and only tried to hone it because of her boss. Paige had some great character development throughout the book. By the end, she was better able to use her ability, but also to stand up for herself and for what she believed in.
I liked our supporting characters, but their stories were left kind of vague. I hope we get to know more about them in the next book. We learned little bits and pieces, but I’m interested in their actual backstories, specifically the Warden. I know he’s not what we thought he was at first, but man I’d love to know his motivations. Also, Jax, I can’t wait to learn more about him.
I liked these characters well enough. They’ve gotten me invested enough that I’m excited to read the next story. I love the world that Shannon has created. I can’t wait to see what happens next with the way The Bone Season ended. Hello, cliffhanger. I think this is a great fantasy story in the middle to lower end of the scale. Maybe a good read for those who are interested in trying a story with a little more fantasy than the minimum.

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

*Want to buy this book? Just click the image of the book cover! As Amazon Affiliates we will get a percentage of any purchase, feel free to support us.

7 thoughts on “The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

  1. I’ve been debating on reading this book on and off for the past few years. I was always turned off because it’s considered an adult book; however, reading the synopsis now at 24, it sounds really intriguing. I might have to finally give it a go. Plus the covers of the books are phenomenal!

    -Amber

  2. Pingback: Amanda’s January 2022 Wrap Up |

  3. Pingback: 10 on Amanda’s TBR: Reread Edition |

  4. Pingback: The Mask Falling by Samantha Shannon |

Have any thoughts?